ABOUT FREE LABEL & WORK CULTURE

MEET THE TEAM

Free Label is an ethics and community based e-commerce clothing brand located in Vancouver, BC. We believe all workers should be paid fairly and work in clean and safe environments. We believe taking care of the earth is our humane duty, and as such are always looking for new and innovative ways to live sustainably. Through fair and sustainable practices and community education, we hope to encourage others to live lightly and with compassion. Social justice is an important value at Free Label; we know that ethics, sustainability, racial equality and gender equality all intersect in various ways and each topic is important to explore thoughtfully as individuals and as an ethical fashion brand.

JESS - OWNER

pronouns | She/Her

a bit about me | Born and raised in Toronto, I went to school in Montreal, lived in South Korea and travelled lots in my early 20s. I'm now into my 30s and settled in Vancouver with my husband Julian. I am happiest on a beach, and I need exactly one coffee everyday to operate; more and I'll shake, less and I'll sleep. I should do more yoga. Self proclaimed cat lady, and proud of it.

astrology sign | Gemini

fav food | All... I love food!!

fav quote | "my perception of you is a reflection of me"

full time | since 2015

fav FL piece | Andie Bra

Shop the Andie
free label owner jess sternberg
free label production coordinator tagnea

TAGNÉA - PRODUCTION COORDINATOR

pronouns | She/Her

a bit about me | Born in the Caribbean and raised in Vancouver. I went to school for holistic nutrition and could happily spend 24 hours walking through the aisles of a grocery store. I love when people share playlists of their favourite songs and the way they light up when they talk about their pets. I feel the most "me" when I'm out in nature, blasting music in my car or about to board an airplane.

astrology sign | Taurus

fav food | Anything from A&W

fav quote | "where you are is not who you are" and "love the life you live. live the life you love"

full time | since October 2021

fav FL piece | Stretch Taylor Pant

Shop the Taylor

JULIA - MARKETING LEAD

pronouns | She/Her

a bit about me | Vancouver born and raised, I graduated with a degree in psychology but have been working in brand marketing for the last few years. I love sunny days, road trips, a good book, frozen margaritas, charcuterie boards, and will stop to pet every dog I see.

astrology sign | Taurus

fav food | Sushi or anything Japanese!

fav quote | "“In the midst of winter, I found there was within me, an invincible summer" -Albert Camus

full time | since January 2022

fav FL piece | Anything bamboo!

Shop Bamboo
Free label marketing lead jUlia
free label warehouse manager daniella

DANIELLA - WAREHOUSE MANAGER

pronouns | She/Her

a bit about me | Born and raised in the lower Mainland, I went to university for fashion marketing. I'm an independent woman that lives in Vancouver who you can find at either hot yoga, the beach, or napping on weekdays. I enjoy baking too many sweet treats for friends, have an obsession with learning new skills, discussing everyone's astrological signs, and will probably most definitely ask to pet your dog.

astrology sign | Virgo

fav food | Any type of popcorn

fav quote | "You are exactly where you're suppose to be" and "you are strong, you are beautiful, you are important"

independent contractor | since February 2021

fav FL piece | Dani Bra

Shop the Dani

JESS - CUSTOMER CARE

pronouns | She/Her

a bit about me | Born and raised in Saskatchewan, I moved province to province until I fell in love with life in the Lower Mainland! I'm a working mama to 3 beautiful kids, and have a love for all things customer service. I live at White Rock beach all summer long, while spending the rest of my year in comfy clothes. I keep up the Christmas tree too long ;)

astrology sign | Aquarius!

fav food | Steam buns or tuna salad bowls

fav quote | "If hurt people hurt people, then healed people heal people"

independent contractor | since December 2019

fav FL piece | Becky Bra

Shop the Becky
FREE LABEL CUSTOMER CARE JESS
free label events and community firina

FIRINA - EVENTS & COMMUNITY

pronouns | She/Her

a bit about me | Born in Khartoum, Sudan, I lived in Cairo until 8,  grew up in Ottawa and managed to survive the winters. I moved to Vancouver 8 years ago and haven't looked back. I am the oldest of 5 kids, aficionado of good music and teller of bad jokes. I am motivated and inspired to create/promote spaces for Black, Indigenous and women of colour to live their fullest and authentic self. I never turn down an opportunity to dance to good music and show people a photo of my dog Beau.

astrology sign | Virgo :)

fav food | Anything with potatoes; chips, fries, hash!

fav quote | "Done is better than perfect" and "I come as one but I stand as 10, 000" - Maya Angelou

independent contractor | since November 2020

fav FL piece | Any and all pants. They fit me perfectly.

Shop Pants

STEPH - FULFILLMENT

pronouns | She/Her

a bit about me | Born and raised in Vancouver, I have a passion for helping people realize their own authentic expression. In recent years this has been through artistic outlets such as dance and fashion. I will say yes to practically all new experiences and will outdance anyone for hours on end. I chase the summer highs and feel most alive when it's hot and sunny. There is something so fulfilling about sitting in a fresh and cool, flowing B.C. river on a scorching day.

astrology sign | Capricorn. Guess my moon sign ;)

fav food | Can't pick just one! Bubble Tea, Noodle Soup, Ice Cream (w/ chunky treats in it, like cookie dough or mint chocolate chip), Macarons and lemon tarts from Thierry's

fav quote | "Stay Gold"

independent contractor | since November 2021

fav FL piece | Sunday Crops!

Shop the Sunday
FREE LABEL FULFILLMENT STEPH

THE JOURNAL

Learn more about the ongoings at the Free Label studio and warehouse.

Read the blog